Please check out my newest book co-authored with my friends
Daniel L. Prechtel and Katrina Leathers:


Soul Journeys

Christian Spirituality and Shamanism
as Pathways for Wholeness and Understanding


Daniel L. Prechtel is an Episcopal priest who studies and applies Core Shamanism alongside Christian prayer practices. John R. Mabry is a United Church of Christ pastor and seminary professor who uses Core Shamanism techniques in his prayer. Katrina Leathers is a Core Shamanism Practitioner and interfaith seminary dean. All three authors are spiritual directors. Together, they write about the intersection of these two great traditions, and the powerful spiritual gifts they bring. 


Soul Journeys: Christian Spirituality and Shamanism as Pathways for Wholeness and Understanding introduces readers to Christian spirituality and Core Shamanism; and then draws on each author’s knowledge and personal experiences to show readers the importance and reality of the spiritual realm in our everyday lives.

In this book, you’ll discover:

-The similarities and differences between Core Shamanism and Christianity

-The universe of both traditions, including upper and lower worlds

-Christian spiritual practices for healing and discernment

-Core Shamanism’s healing methods and divination

-Helping spirits that provide healing, and guidance

-Unexpected resonances and breathtaking epiphanies

-Practical wisdom for our daily spiritual lives

Soul Journeys is a breath of fresh air, opening up new spiritual perspectives from ancient traditions. If you enjoy exploring the insights of other faiths, and then bringing those insights back to your own spiritual practice, you will love Soul Journeys.


Buy Soul Journeys today and begin your next spiritual adventure!

“What spiritualities will emerge to slake our thirst for authentic spiritual practice as institutional, hierarchical Christianity continues its fast fade in the West? Jung recommended alchemy and gnosis. Zen and other Buddhist forms have helped many. Others have advocated for various liberation spiritualities, a Wisdom Jesus, the cosmic Christ, and more. In this humble, practical, thoughtful book, Prechtel, Mabry, and Leathers make a compelling case for shamanism being another arrow that belongs in our emerging, post-Christian spiritual quiver. I found their work—especially their experienced, collaborative voices—consistently engaged me.


—Stephen Martz is an Episcopal priest and past president

of the Chicago Society of Jungian Analysts.

Get a FREE book!
Join my reader's group and you'll hear about all my new spirituality books (and other non-fiction fare). And I'll give you a copy of Light From Light: Five Christian Mystics for FREE!
books by john r. mabry

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.